Spring 2013 | Spring 2012 | Fall 2011 | Spring 2011 | Fall 2010 | Spring 2010

MIT Biophysics–CSB Seminar Series

Fall 2010

Friday, September 3
Dr. Dieter Heermann
University of Heidelberg
Title: How do chromosomes stay segregated in interphase?
Host: Mark Bathe (mark.bathe@mit.edu) – Department of Biological Engineering

Friday, September 10
Dr. Adam Cohen
Harvard University
Title: Observing and controlling electrical spikes in E. coli using engineered microbial rhodopsins
Host: Katharina Ribbeck (ribbeck@mit.edu) – Biological Engineering

Friday, September 17
Dr. Katharina Ribbeck
MIT
Title: From nuclear pores to mucus: a study of biological filters
Host: Mark Bathe (mark.bathe@mit.edu) Department of Biological Engineering

Friday, October 1
Narendra Maheshri
MIT
Title: Transcriptional bursting: consequences...and origins?
Host: Jeff Gore (gore@mit.edu) – Physics

Friday, October 8
Dr. Katya Grishchuk
Penn
Title: Force and accuracy for chromosome segregation
Host: Iain Cheeseman (icheese@wi.mit.edu) –Biology & Whitehead Institute

Friday, October 15
Dr. Otger Campas
Harvard University
Title: Quantifying morphogenesis and morphological variation
Host: Katharina Ribbeck (ribbeck@mit.edu) – Biological Engineering

Friday, October 29
Dr. Sophie Dumont
Harvard University
Title: Generating and responding to mechanical force
Host: Jeff Gore (gore@mit.edu) – Physics

Friday, November 5
Dr. Joe Falke
University of Colorado
Title: Signaling inside the rock: the ultrastable, ultrasensitive signaling lattice of bacterial chemotaxi
Host: Michael Laub (laub@mit.edu) – Biology

Friday, November 12
Dr. Muhammad Zaman
Boston University
Title: Integrated roles of signaling, stiffness and sterics in single and collective cell motion in 3D
Host: Krystyn van Vliet (krystyn@mit.edu) – DMSE & Biological Engineering
Indiana University

Friday, November 19
Dr. Pankaj Mehta
Boston University
Title: Communication and collective behavior in unicellular organisms
Host: Jeff Gore (gore@mit.edu) – Physics

Friday, December 03
Lillian Chong
University of Pittsburgh
Title: Molecular simulations of protein binding and switching
Host: Bruce Tidor (tidor@mit.edu) – Biological Engineering & EECS



We thank CSBi and the Office of the Dean for Graduate Education for their support.Logo