Spring 2013 | Spring 2012 | Fall 2011 | Spring 2011 | Fall 2010 | Spring 2010

MIT Biophysics–CSB Seminar Series
Seminars are held bi-weekly on Wednesdays at 03:05pm in 56-154 (some exceptions, see below)


Spring 2012

Friday, January 13 (12:05pm in 56-114)

Gideon Schreiber
Weizmann Institute
Title: Formation of protein-complexes in crowded environments: from in vitro to in vivo

Host: Amy Keating (keating@mit.edu) – Biology


Wednesday. February 8

L Mahadevan
Harvard University
Title: The physical basis for morphogenesis

Host: Biophysics Students


Wednesday, February 22

Feng Zhang
MIT
Title: Optogenetics: Molecular and optical axes of control

Host: Alice Ting (ating@mit.edu) – Chemistry


Wednesday, March 7

Robert Austin
Princeton University
Title: All evolution is local: Probing the origins of drug resistance

Host: Roman Stocker (romans@mit.edu) - Civil & Environmental Engineering


Wednesday, March 21

Alex Mogilner
UC Davis
Title: Mechanics of cell crawling - from 2D to 3D

Host: Mark Bathe (mark.bathe@mit.edu) –Biological Engineering


Wednesday, April 4

Joe Loparo
Harvard Medical School
Title: Visualizing the dynamics of chromosome replication and segregation through single-molecule microscopy

Host: Andrei Tokmakoff (tokmakof@mit.edu) - Chemistry


Wednesday, April 18

Bruce Goode
Brandeis University
Title: How to Train Your Actin Network: Mechanisms Controlling Size and Shape

Host: Adam Martin (acmartin@mit.edu) - Biology


Wednesday, May 2

Gurol Suel
UT Southwestern
Title: A molecular race: cellular decision-making dynamics at the single cell level

Host: Jeremy England (jengland@mit.edu) – Physics


Wednesday, May 16

Alexander van Oudenaarden
MIT
Title: Controlling gene expression fluctuations during development

Host: Narendra Maheshri (narendra@mit.edu) - Chemical Engineering



We thank CSBi and the Office of the Dean for Graduate Education for their support.Logo